28 April 2011

And With The First Pick...

I never watch the draft cause quite frankly they ain't calling my name, and they aren't asking my opinion on who to draft so what difference does it make. But as fate would have it, i'm here flipping channels looking for either NBA/NHL Playoffs and i stumble upon the draft on TSN...

"And with the 23rd pick, the Philadelphia Eagles select...."

OG Danny Watkins of Baylor University
It's exciting to know that we've gotten some O-line help so that Michael Vick isn't running for his life again this season, because who knows how much further we could have gone if we had better protection for Mike last season.

While i'm still cheesed that Mike didn't win the Madden12 cover contest (that honour went to Peyton Hillis). A pretty deserving dude all the same. After all he played for the Browns, and Cleveland needs a win of some kind more than any city; plus it didn't go to one of the "Golden Boys" (Manning or Brady) which is always good. And while i'm not the most superstitious person, if there is any truth to the Madden Curse, the last thing i want is my star QB going down to injury this season...if there is a season...


E-A-G-L-E-S....EAGLES!!!!!

PS - Cam Newton went first overall to the Carolina Panthers, and rumor has it that his dad was on the phone with UPS to find out the cost of next day delivery and to see if they had any boxes that would fit the Heisman trophy..."if you ain't cheating, you ain't trying"

21 April 2011

Movie Review: It's Kind Of a Funny Story

So i've recently submitted to the idea that i am going to fail the first course of my life. Now i know what you're thinking..."what a quitter"...and you're absolutely right, i am quitting. Not because i'm dumb, or lazy, but because at this current juncture in my life i'm just not equipped to learn the material for this class in the manner that it is being presented. Lack of structure...poor teaching technique...poor time management...blah blah blah. The story here isn't about me...or maybe it is. The current events of my life have left me feeling rather down, or depressed as medical professionals would like to put it, and i thought "hey, why not watch some movies about kids who are depressed and the way they handled it"...first up was It's Kind of a Funny Story starring Keir Gilchrist, Zach Galifianakis (The Hangover) and Emma Roberts (Twelve).


It's kind of a funny story Movie


The story is about a depressed teenager who is contemplating suicide, but doesn't have the balls to go thru with it, and is desperately looking for someone to talk him out of it. Unfortunately the usual outlets (friends and parents) don't have any great advice for him, so in a last ditch effort he has himself committed to an adult psychiatric ward, and as you can assume, a teenager mixed in amongst crazy adults (one of whom is Zach) can only lead to lots of laughs. I must admit that the only reason i wanted to see this movie at all was because of Zach. Say what you will about him playing the same character in every movie, but the dude is funny, PERIOD!! And not in a Jim Carrey the Mask kind of way either (if you don't believe me watch Due Date, he completely crushed that role). I won't ruin the movie by telling you that he ultimately kills himself...OOPS!! LOL!! But the movie got me to thinking about my personal struggles in my professional and personal life. And as the old cliche goes, i came to realize that no matter how bad i think i have it, there is someone out there worse off than me. However, more importantly it taught me that, i don't really care how bad the next person has it, cause their problems aren't mine, and knowing that someone else is suffering worse isn't going to help me pass this class, so i'm still going to fail, but now i'm going to fail knowing that just because i'm quitting with respect to this course, doesn't mean you have to quit at life in general. So much like the Knicks last night against the Celtics, i'm gonna take the "L", but i'm going to come back refocused next semester (albeit $700 lighter) and climb this hurdle. The movie is very good, and i would definitely recommend it to someone that is struggling with anything in their life. Sure it doesn't have any Hollywood heavyweights in the cast, but then again, neither does your life...

17 April 2011

Dude Where's My Stuff??!?!?

So i was sitting here looking for the remote control for the fan (although i could have easily gotten up and pressed the power button), and i decided that i should really address this issue currently plaguing my life.

I'm not a big television watcher, because too much of what's on TV claims to be reality, when it's actually overproduced garbage masquerading as some one's life or a game show. When i do watch television it's either some sporting event, or A&E and TLC (the days of great television programming are dead, to be chronicled at a later date). These channels rip the scabs off the real lives of many people, exposing the ugliness of the world we live in. DISCLAIMER: I don't take pleasure in other people's misery, but I'm a realist and the world isn't full of Armenian girls with big asses, and i don't want to watch old washed up celebs (and some never weres: Latoya Jackson, NeNe, Wendy Williams) dance, or try to run a company.

So the other night while watching Hoarding: Buried Alive they showed a black single mother and son who were living like squatters in their own home. As they entered the apartment you could not distinguish what the individual rooms were. She said at one point "there's a couch somewhere under there"...O_O. The son went on to talk about how they don't have any guests over cause they are embarrassed by the appearance of their home. Imagine you go to visit your friend, sit down on a couch and discover that the family cat is dead under a pile of clothes??

It's at this point where i scream at the TV..."then clean the muthaphucka up!!". Simple enough right?? WRONG!!! I continued watching the show to completion, and then got up to get something to eat. Stubbed my foot on my gym bag, trying to avoid a stack of blu rays, a stack of magazines, and 2 empty shoe boxes...then like Tina finally did Ike in the limo, it hit me...I'm a HOARDER!!!!

Before you rupture your appendix laughing, I'm not one of those people that you see on television. Rooms and furniture are clearly distinguishable, and for the most part everything has a place. My problem appears to be that i have too much shit, in a tiny space. (I almost attached photos, but that might feed into the legend of Count De Monét -- to be detailed in another post). In the past i have donated clothes to the Diabetes Foundation or neighborhood kids to alleviate my burden and help out people in need, but magazines and movies are a lot harder to part ways with. 1) Cause i love movies (also to be discussed in future posts) and 2) i keep telling myself that i will one day go back and read these magazines that i paid good money for again...NOT!!!

I'm left with no choice at this point but to dispose of these old mags and some of these shoes boxes. To quote one of the hoarders, "i want my life back"...LOL!!! It's not nearly that bad, but you get the picture. So I'm off to clean up around here a bit while the NBA playoffs are on, so I'm out.

PS - found the remote, i was sitting on it.

15 April 2011

Back Again For The First Time...

Wow...this is a monumental moment for me, cause i've been saying for years that i want to get my experiences and feelings out, and i'm one step closer to that happening. If you're reading this, let me say "thank you", because you coulda been anywhere on the web right now, but you're here with me (Da ROC is in the building). If you stick with this blog/digital memoir/mindless ramblings i can't promise that you'll always like or agree with my posts, but you can be for damn sure that i'm giving it to you straight no chaser.


The layout of this thing is currently under construction, as i figure out how to get it looking the way i want it to, so like the signs you've seen around malls everywhere "please excuse our appearance".


You're probably asking yourself, "who gives a rats ass about this guy, and what he has to say??"...well, quite honestly, ME!!! I'm not forcing you to read these posts, care about these posts, or even to understand these posts. I'm just sharing the ups and downs of life, the things that cross my mind, or the things that matter to me. Sometimes you'll laugh, other times you'll cuss, but these will always just be my feelings/opinions...I'm not trying to re-invent the wheel.

So without further ado, welcome to The Ramblings of G_Russ, and stay tuned for the first instalment of life according to me...