31 January 2012

The Running Man



Life is all about challenges, and i've taken on a new one...running. Now let's not get it twisted, i'm not trying to be a marathon runner or Lance Armstrong. But God knows that i don't want to be a fat ass either. So a day last week i took the plunge and walked into the Nike Running store in Eaton Centre and spoke to a sales associate about a pair of shoes. He did a cursory assessment of  my feet and my running style (Overpronate Or Underpronate). Turns out that i'm the later based on the wear pattens on my dress shoes, so he suggested a few pairs that would work for me. I came home, did a little research of my own and selected a pair that i liked. Decided to go with the Nike Zoom Vomero+ 6. The cushioning that the shoe provides, along with the breathability built in should provide me with the necessary comfort to make long distance running more enjoyable...and it doesn't hurt that they come in a fresh colorway.


So after a failed attempt at a run on Saturday, i was driving home tonight from work, and noticed a girl running in what most would consider to be bad weather, and something occurred to me -- if this girl is running in driving snow, and she's doing it with a smile, then my black ass should get out there and do the same. So i came home, changed and headed out...

Let's just say that the first 2 minutes were the scariest. I really wanted to turn around and give up in the worst way. But i kept seeing that girl running in my head, and it pushed me to go further. I play a lot of sports, and i'm a fairly athletic person, but running on a basketball court, or on a football field, is very different than a sustained run...especially with snow blowing in your face. Well after what felt like a quick loop thru the neighborhood i was back home in just under 18 minutes. Now that isn't marathon time by any stretch of the imagination, but for someone out running for their first time i figured that was more than enough. That time includes portions where i stopped to walk, because my back was hurting, or i was trying to regulate my breathing somewhat (who knew breathing was going to be so hard?!?).

Well after i got home, and stripped out of my soaking wet clothing, i decided to log on and track the actual distance that i had run just to get an idea of how far i was able to get in 18 minutes...well it turns out that your boy ran 3.9kms on his first time out!!!. I will admit that i totally over did it, and ran too far for my first time ever, and my body let me know it. I think later this week when my iPod Nano 6G finally shows up i will try running a shorter route of 1.7kms a few times as a warm up to longer runs. But all in all, not bad for a novice runner. There is something to be said about how much a gadget can motivate you to try something new...as well as the right person giving you a supportive push...(thank you, you know who you are).

Being active, and healthy is a serious goal that i've set for myself for 2012, and this is just the first step in attaining that goal. Next up is week 2 of my touch football league this wednesday, stay tuned for the blog post about that endeavour in the coming weeks...

29 January 2012

Guess Who's Bizzack??!!?

Hi Haters, i'm back off of hiatus!!!

Okay, well you're not haters, but i liked the line. Seems like quite some time since i blogged (6 months to be almost exact). And so much has happened. I won't get into it all, because that's old news...but let's just say that your boy has done a life reno. Tore down some emotional walls, and replaced the outdated fixtures. I have to say that it definitely feels good. It's only when you're at your lowest do you really get a sense of who's there for you, and who really has your back.

Anywho...all of that said, i'm back, and feeling better than ever. 2011 was a good year, but i want to make sure that 2012 is EPIC!!! 29 days in, and i have to say that we're off to a good start....

26 August 2011

Words With Friends, By Yourself...

So...as any of my Words With Friends playmates can attest to, i'm not the most loyal player. Truth is, i have so many other things to do on my iPad that i honestly forget that i have games going. So let me first apologize to all of the people who's time i've wasted...MelissaTy, GreenFinch and CurlyLoxx69...i'll come back to my roots one day, but for right now, my new obsession is "Word Whomp"...

Basically, Word Whomp is a game where you have to make words out of scrambled letters on the screen in a specific amount of time. It's www.Pogo.com game that was introduced to me by a dear friend...well that's not entirely true. She was playing, wasn't very good at it, and asked for my help over the phone. Initially this was rather boring for me as i couldn't see what was going on, but i decided to try it for myself...2 hours later i'm still playing...ARGH!!!! Goodnight...I hope...O_O



25 August 2011

Forget Blondes, Raunchy Fat Chicks Have More Fun!!!



It's been a minute, but i'm back...life has a funny way of throwing you for a loop just when you think that you know exactly what you're doing. I've just recovered from one such loop (with another in it's infancy...O_O).

Anywho...in my hiatus, i've had the privilege of seeing quite a few movies. Call it a temporary distraction, or me just getting back to what i love to do the most...watch movies. Well i've noticed an alarming trend lately. That rauchiness has replaced sex as the new selling feature in Hollywood. Where you once had to have a hot blonde, a ravishing redhead or a breath-taking brunette to sell a movie, now you put some over-top sexual gestures, some really in your face dirty jokes, and sprinkle in some humor and you've got yourself a winner. This isn't a new phenomenon, i mean movies like "40 Year Old Virgin" and "Knocked Up" have been just a couple of the big ones in recent years.

Some noteable gems i've seen lately are "The Change Up", "Bridesmaids", and "Horrible Bosses". The common theme seems to be, say as much as you can, as dirty as you can, and then laugh your ass off right after it. For the record, i recommend all 3. All have good messages in the end, and tons of jokes in the middle. But it's hard to watch some of your favourite actors/actresses spew some of the most vulgar and inappropriate things they've ever said in their lives (see Jennifer Aniston in "Horrible Bosses").

Everything has a life cycle, and much like how you probably got bored of playing the piano as a kid, i'm sure that we'll get tired of the raunchiness...but until then, i'll be standing in line for "Our Idiot Brother"

18 May 2011

2 Is Better Than 4



Okay, so 2 isn't better than 4, but it's all dependent on what we're talking about. When it comes to sex, 2 balls are better than 4, or my next question is "WTF is he doing here??". 4 breasts as opposed to 2 makes things interesting (not necessarily my cup of tea, but we can address that in another post). However, the 2 i'm obsessing over, are the 2 wheels of a motorcycle.

Now before you start in on me about the dangers, and the costs, there should be some full disclosure: my pops had a motorcycle, several of my friends had/have bikes, and someone i knew died as a result of a motorcycle accident. Yes i know the dangers, and i realize that driving a car offers more protection, and living in a country that only has 2 months of summer makes motorcycle ownership seem a little silly...yeah yeah yeah, i get it...but we like what we like, and we want, what we want...


I currently don't have a license, nor am i enrolled in the course to get it, but in the next 12 months i think that's going to change...so pray for me, and if you see a 2 wheeled rocket coming down the street, take extra care...it might just be me...

17 May 2011

Movie Review: The Green Hornet

Over the last couple years there has been a huge commitment by movie studios to produce 3D movies. Be it in Real 3D or just 3D (hit me up if you know what the difference is). I've seen a few of these 3D flicks in theaters including "Avatar" and The Guardians of Ga'Hoole". Right off the bat i'll say that cartoons DO look amazing in 3D, but the major problem is that wearing sunglasses in an already dark movie theatre usually leads to me sleeping. So when "The Green Hornet" was released i said that i would wait for it to drop on DVD.

Well i recently took it in...and...let's just say i'm glad i didn't pay for this one. I've always considered Seth Rogen to be funny...period, end of story. His delivery is effortless. I'm an avid film watcher, and hate nothing more than when someone ruins a movie for me, but i feel like i owe it to you to tell you exactly what this movie is about, and just how bad it is.

The premise is that a newspaper mogul dies, and his absent minded, and immature son takes over the family business. Somewhere along the journey to becoming a man, he decides to become a pseudo-criminal who fights for good in the process. Still with me?? A good guy, bad guy...huh?!? That's what i said. The one shining star in the movie was Kato his loyal Chin-English speaking sidekick. He's the equivalent of Penny & the dog, to Rogen's Inspector Gadget...he basically does all the hard work. The action sequences were decent, and Kato's bike was the bizness, but...

...2 hours later, i felt supremely cheated, and disappointed. Rogen has given me such gems as "Knocked Up", "Superbad", "Zack & Miri Make A Porno" and "Funny People"...what made him think that people would want to see him as a super hero?!!? #EpicFail!! If this is the first Rogen movie you're about to see, don't make it the last - he's done waaaaaay better. But if you can, treat this movie like the co-worker with bad breath, and go the other way.

28 April 2011

And With The First Pick...

I never watch the draft cause quite frankly they ain't calling my name, and they aren't asking my opinion on who to draft so what difference does it make. But as fate would have it, i'm here flipping channels looking for either NBA/NHL Playoffs and i stumble upon the draft on TSN...

"And with the 23rd pick, the Philadelphia Eagles select...."

OG Danny Watkins of Baylor University
It's exciting to know that we've gotten some O-line help so that Michael Vick isn't running for his life again this season, because who knows how much further we could have gone if we had better protection for Mike last season.

While i'm still cheesed that Mike didn't win the Madden12 cover contest (that honour went to Peyton Hillis). A pretty deserving dude all the same. After all he played for the Browns, and Cleveland needs a win of some kind more than any city; plus it didn't go to one of the "Golden Boys" (Manning or Brady) which is always good. And while i'm not the most superstitious person, if there is any truth to the Madden Curse, the last thing i want is my star QB going down to injury this season...if there is a season...


E-A-G-L-E-S....EAGLES!!!!!

PS - Cam Newton went first overall to the Carolina Panthers, and rumor has it that his dad was on the phone with UPS to find out the cost of next day delivery and to see if they had any boxes that would fit the Heisman trophy..."if you ain't cheating, you ain't trying"